Abbreviations

ABSA Amalgamated Bank of South Africa

ACA Anti-Corruption Agency

ACT Alliance for Change and Transparency

AfDB African Development Bank

ASIP Annual Survey of Industrial Production in Tanzania

ASP Afro-Shirazi Party

ATCL Air Tanzania Corporation Ltd

ATP Accountability and Transparency Programme

AU African Union
BAE British Aerospace

BIS Basic Industries Strategy 1975-1995

BRN Big Results Now

CBOs Community Based Organisations

CCM Chama Cha Mapinduzi

CHADEMA Chama cha Demokrasia na Maendeleo

CHAUSTA Chama Cha Haki na Ustawi

CRPO Central Registry of Petroleum Operations

CSOs Civil Society Organizations
CSR Corporate Social Responsibility

CTI Confederation of Tanzania Industries

CTT Currency Transaction Tax

CUF Civic United Front

DAC Development Assistance Countries

DANIDA Danish International Development Assistance
DAWASA Dar es Salaam Water and Sewerage Agency
DFID Department of International Development (UK)

DOD Disbursed Outstanding Debts
DPP Director of Public Prosecutions

DP Democratic Party

DPs Development Partners

7

E&P Exploration and Production
EPA External Payment Arrears
EPZ Export Processing Zone

ERP Economic Recovery Programme

ESAP Economic and Social Action Programme
ESAF Economic and Social Research Foundation

EU European Union

EWURA Energy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority

FCI Free Carried Interest

FDI Foreign Direct Investment
FDP Field Development Plan
FIU Financial Intelligence Unit

FORD Forum for Reconstruction and Democracy

FTT Financial Transaction Tax

FY Financial Year

FYDPI First Five Year Development Plan 2011/2012 – 2015/2016 FYDPII Second Five Year Development Plan 2016/2017 – 2020/2021

GBS General Budget Support

GCU Governance Coordinating Unit

GDP Gross Domestic Product

GTL Gas to Liquid

HIPC Highly Indebted Poor Countries

ICSID International Centre for Settlement of Investment Disputes

IDA International Development Association
 IFC International Finance Corporation
 IMF International Monetary Fund
 IPC Investment Promotion Centre

IPTL Independent Power Tanzania Limited

ISIC International Standard Industrial Classification

LCPs Local Content Policies
LGP Liquefied Petroleum Gas

LGRP Local Government Reform Programme

LNG Liquefied Natural Gas

MDA Mining Development Agreement
MDAs Ministries, Departments and Agencies

MDCMtwara Development CorridorMDGsMillennium Development GoalsMITIMinistry of Trade and Industries

MKUKUTA Mpango wa Kukuza Uchumi na Kupunguza Umaskini Tanzania

MMEs Macro-Manufacturing Enterprises

NACSAP National Anti-Corruption Strategy and Action Plan

NAO National Audit Office

NBC National Bank of Commerce
NBS National Bureau of Statistics
NCI National Chemical Industries

NCCR-Mageuzi National Convention for Construction and Reform (Mageuzi)

NDC National Development Corporation

NEC National Executive Committee

NEMC National Environmental Management Council

NESP National Economic Survival Programme

NGOs Non-Governmental Organizations NLD National League for Democracy

NORAD Norwegian Agency for Development Cooperation

NPIS National Petroleum Information System

NRA National Reconstruction Alliance

NSA Non State Actors

NSRGP National Strategy for Growth and Reduction of Poverty

ODA Overseas Development Assistance
ODI Overseas Development Institute

OECD Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development

OGPSA Oil and Gas Production Sharing Agreement

OSHA Occupational Health and Safety

PACB Prevention and Anti-Corruption Bureau

PAP Pan African Power Solutions

9

PCCB Prevention and Combatting Corruption Bureau

PCI Permanent Commission of Inquiry

PEFAR Public Expenditure and Financial Accountability Review
PFMRP Public Financial Management Reform Programme

PFM Public Financial Management

PMO-RALG Prime Minister's Office, Regional Administration and Local Government

PPSRC Presidential Parastatal Sector Reform Commission

PPT-Maendeleo Progressive Party of Tanzania - Maendeleo

PSA Petroleum Sharing Agreement

PSRS Power Sector Reform Strategy and Roadmap
PURA Petroleum Upstream Regulatory Authority
SADC Southern African Development Community

SAGCOT Southern Agricultural Growth Corridor of Tanzania

SAP Structural Adjustment Programme

SAU Sauti Ya Umma

SEZ Special Economic Zones
SDR Special Drawing Rights

SID Society for International Development

SIDA Swedish International Development Cooperation Agency

SIDO Small Scale Industries Development Organization
SIDP Sustainable Industrial Development Policy 1996-2020

STACA Strengthening Anti-Corruption Agencies

STAMICO State Mining Corporation
TADEA Tanzania Democratic Alliance

TAMISEMI Tawala za Mikoa na Serikali za Mitaa
TANESCO Tanzania Electricity Supply Company
TANU Tanganyika African National Union

TDC Tanga Development Corridor

TDV Tanzania Development Vision 2025

TEITA Tanzania Extractive Industries (Transparency and Accountability Act
TEMBO Tanzania Engineering and Manufacturing Design Organization

TEXCO Tanzania Textile Company
TIB Tanzania Investment Bank

TIIDS Tanzania Integrated Industrial Development Strategy (2025)
TIRDO Tanzania Industrial Research and Development Organization

TKAI Tanzania Karatasi Associated Industries

TLAI Tanzania Leather Industries

TLP Tanzania Labor Party

TMAA Tanzania Minerals Audit Agency
TNBC Tanzania National Business Council

TPDC Tanzania Petroleum Development Company

TRA Tanzania Revenue Authority

TTCL Tanzania Telecommunications Company Ltd

TSh Tanzanian Shillings

UDP United Democratic Party

UKAWA Coalition of Defenders of the Peoples Constitution

UMD Union for Multiparty Democracy

UN United Nations

UNCTAD United Nations Conference on Trade and Development

UNECA United Nations Economic Commission for Africa

UNDP United Nations Development Programme

UNIDO United Nations Industrial Development Organization

UPDP United People's Democratic Party

URT United Republic of Tanzania

USD\$ United States Dollars
VAT Value Added Tax

ZNP Zanzibar National Party

ZPPP Zanzibar and Pemba Peoples Party

11